RSS

Slave Schedules

17 Mar

A couple of years after I began my genealogy research, I learned that the Thomason Family of Georgia had owned slaves back in the 1840s. I think I mentioned this in one of my first posts on this weblog.

This weekend I looked into the U.S. Census Slave Schedules from 1850 & 1860 to see if other ancestors had owned slaves. I don’t know why I hadn’t looked before.

I found some VERY interesting information. Branches of my family that I didn’t think owned slaves in fact DID.

Here’s a list of what I’ve found.

1850 Slave Schedules

1850 – Berkshire Gwinnett Co., Georgia

Nancy Davis – My great-great-great-great grandmother – owned six slaves. She was the widow of George Davis, and mother of Andrew Nathaniel Jackson Davis.

  • 27 Female, Black
  • 8 Female, Mulatto
  • 6 Female, Black
  • 4 Female, Black
  • 3 Female, Black
  • 2 Female, Black

Nancy’s mother, Sarah Akers, my great-great-great-great-great grandmother also owned 10  slaves, and lived next door to Nancy. Both of the women were widows.

  • 60 Female, B
  • 48 Female, B
  • 39 Female, B
  • 35 Male, B
  • 12 Female, B
  • 11 Female, B
  • 7 Male, B
  • 6 Male, B
  • 5 Male, B
  • 3 Male, B

On my mother’s side, the Winton Clan lived in Polk County, Arkansas. George M. Winton, led a wagon train from Tennessee to Arkansas in the 1840s. He owned quite a few slaves as well. He was one of  the 15 slave owning families in the county.

1850 Polk County, Arkansas

George M. Winton -my great-great-great-great-great grandfather:

  • 30 Female, Black
  • 10 Female, Mulatto
  • 8, Male, M
  • 6, Female, M
  • 5, Female, M
  • 3, Male, M

My great-great-great-great-great grandfather, Richard S. Powell also lived in Polk County. His daughter, Pernella Pernicia, married Hiram Kinerson Winton, son of George M. Winton.

Richard S. Powell-

  • 17 Female, Black
  • 15 Male, Black
  • 1 Female, Black

Thomas D. Cook – My great-great-great-great-great grandfather lived in Anderson County, South Carolina. He owned two slaves in 1850.

  • 9 Female, Black
  • 60 Male, Black

His father-in-law, Jacob Mouchet owned a few in Anderson County.

  • 50 Female, Black
  • 28 Male, Black
  • 20 Female, Black
  • 2/12, Black

Isham F. Davis, was a brother to my great-great-great-great grandfather. He lived in Wilson County, Tennessee.

  • 37 Female, M
  • 30 Female, B
  • 28 Male, B
  • 22 Male, B
  • 14 Male, B
  • 12 Male, B
  • 10 Female, B
  • 10 Male, B
  • 10 Male, B
  • 9 Female, B
  • 8  Male, B
  • 8 Male, B
  • 6 Male, B
  • 4 Male, B
  • 2 Male, B
  • 4/12 Female, B

His brother was Wilson C. Davis, also of Wilson Co., Tenn.

  • 30 Female, Black

1860 Slave Schedules

George M. Winton – Polk Co., Ark.

  • 17 Male, Mulatto

Catharine Winton- She might be George’s wife.

  • 43 Female, Black

James Winton- son of George M. Winton

  • 19 Female, Mulatto
  • 5 Female, Mulatto

Stephen Winton – Son of George M. Winton

  • 19 Female, Mulatto
  • 7 Female, Mulatto
  • 3 Female, Mulatto

Pancia Winton – I think this is Pernissa Powell Winton, daughter-in-law of George M. Winton and wife of Hiram Kinerson Winton.  She would have been my great-great-great-great grandmother.

  • 9 Female, Black

Richard S. Powell

  • 25 Male, Black
  • 25 Female, Black
  • 5 Female, Black
  • 2 Female, Black

Geraldus McDonald O’Bryan – Rome, Floyd Co., Georgia. He was my great-great-great-great grandfather.

  • 25 Female, Mulatto
  • 6 Female, Black
  • 2 Male, Black

Jacob Mouchet – Anderson Co., South Carolina. My great-great-great-great-great-great grandfather.

  • 60 Male, Black
  • 50 Female, B
  • 35 Female, B
  • 11 Male, B
  • 5 Female, B
  • 4 Female, B
  • 4 Male, B.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 17, 2009 in Genealogy

 

Leave a Reply

 
