RSS

A statement on slavery

29 Mar

Let me start off by saying that the institution of slavery was horrible, despicable, and inhumane.

However, the fact remains that I am a descendant of many slave owning families. The next few posts that I create will be transcriptions of estate records that I have found in my research that contain information relating to slave property. I wish to share those records with others through this blog. In no way am I glorifying what my ancestors did.

It is a sad fact that for many African Americans, ancestral research is almost impossible before 1865. The void of historical information for African Americans is a brick wall that is rarely broken. With that in mind, there are still some records of the given names and relative ages of slaves to be found in many courthouse documents. Many times, after emancipation, former slaves took the surname of their former owners. This could be a huge clue for those searching for slave ancestors.

It is my hope that posting this information (where it might be found by keyword searches) will aid those who are looking for their African American ancestors held in slavery.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
