RSS

Davis portraits located!

29 Apr

I caught the “genealogy bug” early in life. I was 14 or 15 at the time. I credit my grandpa Swart, a fascinating story-teller, with part of this. His stories of the Swart family immigrating to America in the late 19th century were enough to whet my historical appetite. All these years later, that appetite is still not sated.

I was contacted this week by a 2nd cousin of my grandmother, LaWana. He lives in Beaumont, Texas. My grandmother’s grandfather, Robert Wallace Davis, was a sister to this cousin’s grandmother, Amanda Melvina Davis Thomason.

Robert Wallace married a woman named Lizzie Thomason, whose father was a double-cousin (and step-brother) to Amanda’s husband, Homer Thomason. A bit confusing, I know.

During my teenage years, I was given a set of xerox copies of some old family photographs as well as typed copies of obituaries and other memories of older family members. In no way was there a notation to suggest who might have owned the portraits that had been copied.

And I didn’t know the answer to that question until today!

This cousin in Texas owns the original portraits to the copies I have had all these years. I’ve been trying to locate them for the past fifteen years or so!

Here are the copies I have:

Andrew & Sarah Davis

Sarah Greene O'Bryan

A. N. Jackson Davis

How exciting to know that these portraits exist!

Turns out, this cousin (and his brother) have a large collection of other Davis photographs as well. The extremely weird part of it all? The 89 year-old brother lives three miles east of my house here in Tulsa! I can’t wait for the chance to visit him and see what stories he has to share. It’s been a good day.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
